Na-Maloom Afraad ya Na-Maloom Trailer?

 

Just a week or so ago we had a look at Na-Maloom Afraad’s posters. Now, we have the trailer. Whatever vintage sensibilities I was hoping from Na-Maloom Afraad have alas gone down the drain.

This is no Golmaal (the Utpal Dutt one!) nor is it a Chasme Badoor-esque take on young love. It is, though, like both these films about a particular moment in the lives of ordinary people in the face extraordinary events. What do I mean? Well, I’ll save this for the review as and when it comes out but suffice to say there is some solid depth in what you’ll read.

So, second impressions… (first was the poster, no?!)

Thirty seconds into the trailer I got every Hera Pheri vibe I could get. Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think the story is a rip-off nor am I suggesting that it lacks originality but it’s a theme and scenario that we’ve seen before. Three guys on a topsy-turvey mission to change their luck, and perhaps, their love-lives. Seeing Jawad Sheikh in the Mr. Know-it-all role all I could think of was Paresh Rawal in Aankhen and Heri Pheri combined. Fahad Mustafa gives us every shade a comic leading man whereas Mohsin Haider is the less than willing sidekick. The girls don’t really make that much of an impact but then again this is a boys movie, as many of are movies tend to be.

Seeing all this, I feel there is a little too much going on in the trailer for it to make any sense but maybe that’s what they want us to do… keep guessing. So what really brings us back? Well, the story and cast aside seeing Karachi gripped by riots is an interesting idea, Khuda-na-Khasta, it ever comes true.

Until we meet for a review.

This is RB signing off.

4 comments

Leave a comment